Watching the Fog Roll In…

Do you remember the plan we had for the kitchen cabinets? In order to keep the wood grain we were going to test out some stains. Well, test one didn’t go very well. After cleaning and sanding a cabinet door that we knew we would loose, three coats of stain look like this:

From iPhone 004_USED

Since we’re not going for beach cottage chic, this semi-green white wash look is not going to work. This wood seriously did not want to take this stain. There are likely other stains that are more opaque, BUT, I happed to have a dozen and a half paint samples laying around and some time to kill. Lucky for me, we BOTH liked the first one, so stain testing ended there. I present to you, our kitchen cabinet color, Valspar’s Autumn Fog:

From iPhone 001_USED

This color is seriously the Mona Lisa of paint colors. I have tried out this color in the living room, hallway, bathroom, and even under the kitchen cabinets, it looks COMPLETLY different everywhere I have put it. Now I did spend two years of my college career studying Graphic Design, and if I learned anything from color theory it’s that color can look very different with lighting and background color. But Autumn Fog is in a league of its own. In fact, it doesn’t even look that much like the color in the picture above, it’s more blue in the picture then it is in real life. I will take a video when I get a chance, I think that will capture the true color.

Anyway, I can’t tell you how relieved I am to find a color that we both like. I cannot WAIT to start painting the cabinets. The prep work is staring me in the face though. In fact, I think we’re in the middle of a blinking contest. I’ll let you know who wins…

Leave a comment